A little bit more about Danii…

If you’ve read the ‘about’ section, you already know a little bit about me anyway, but I’ll give everyone a bit more info so you can see where I’m coming from in terms of diet and exercise. The easy stuff is my age and what I like to do, the harder stuff to talk about is why I have found it necessary to worry about my diet and exercise in the first place.

The first time I remember worrying about my weight is Yr 3; I looked in the mirror, burst into tears and told Mum that I wasn’t going to school because I looked fat in my school uniform. This obsession with my weight continued throughout the rest of my childhood and became even more of an issue when I was a teenager. In Yr 12 I managed to lose about 6 kgs, unfortunately I did it by restricting my calorie intake to a pretty stupid level, I also looked a bit ridiculous because I was completely out of proportion.

I really screwed it up when I started going out with my mates while studying at uni and working part-time at Kmart; I started drinking, A LOT, stopped watching what I was eating and I met someone. But that’s great I hear you cry! Sure it was, but he was (and is still) a lovely guy and even as I continued to pack on weight, eventually I stacked on 32 and a bit kilos, he continued to tell me I wasn’t fat and that I was still a good size. Even as the numbers on my clothing tags continued to creep upwards and skywards, I told myself it wasn’t my fault, it was the clothing shops, and every store that I had to buy a size bigger than size 14, was a store that was stocking clothes made by tiny, tiny women.

I only really realised how big I had actually become when I saw a photo of myself at a friend’s Hen’s Day; I couldn’t blame it on a clothing store, I couldn’t blame it on an unflattering camera angle – the truth was…I was fat. I had become the thing I most feared.  {The photo that woke me up is at the bottom of this post!}

The rest is a story for another day, but basically, I got my ass into gear. My diet changed radically, I sorted out (kinda sorted out) some serious medical issues that were affecting my ability to lose weight and I got into exercise in a serious way. {See photo at the bottom – that was at the end of last year I think} My diet, until the last month or so is as follows:

I count calories – I used to write them all down, along with my fat grams, carbohydrates, sugar and sodium, I’ve been a bit lazy lately as I’ve memorised most of the calories in the foods I eat the most. This is going to get me back in my groove…

Food:

Breakfast:

I’m very, very naughty and don’t eat breakfast – I’m not a morning person and the thought of food at 6, or even before 9am in the morning, makes me feel physically ill; I have a glass of Feel Good Iced Coffee each morning instead

250mls Feel Good Iced Coffee – 105 calories 1.2g fat

Snack:

170g Dairy Farmers Fat Free Yoghurt – 168 calories 2.7g fat or 200g Fruit Salad in natural juices – 74 calories 0.4g fat

Lunch:

Chicken and Salad Sandwich (or something similar) with 97% Fat Free Mayo – approx. 150-160 calories approx. 3.5g fat

Tea:

150g Grilled Chicken Breast – 142 calories 3.1g fat

100g Steamed Vegies – 96 calories 0.7g fat

Total:

On most days (very good days!): 671 calories 11.2 g fat

Exercise:

Monday and Wednesday: 40 minutes of netball

Tuesday and Thursday: weights at the gym

Saturday morning: short cardio and weights session at the gym

Friday and Sunday: Nothing!

I think that’s about it for now!

92.7 or maybe more

92.7 or maybe more

Approx 71kgs (middle)

Approx 71kgs (middle){

2 thoughts on “A little bit more about Danii…

Leave a Reply

